European Parliament Election Candidates Confirmed

Written 4 months ago by Newsroom

The deadline to contest the European elections has passed.

Candidates had to get their submission in before midday.

Ireland will elect 13 MEPs – two more than last time.

However the extra two may have to sit on the subs bench until Brexit is sorted, when they’ll be able to take up their seats.

The candidates for the Midlands North-West constituency are as follows;

Maria Walsh – Fine Gael

Mairead McGuinness – Fine Gael

Anne Rabbitte- Fianna Fáil

Brendan Smith – Fianna Fáil

Matt Carthy – Sinn Féin

Dominic Hannigan – Labour Party

Saoirse McHugh – Green Party

Cyril Brennan – Solidarity/People Before Profit

Michael O’Dowd – Renua Ireland

Patrick Greene – Direct Democracy Ireland

Dilip Mahapatra – Independent

Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan – Independent

Peter Casey – Independent

Healy Eames – Independent

The candidates for the Ireland South constituency are as follows;

Séan Kelly – Fine Gael

Deirdre Clune – Fine Gael

Andrew Doyle – Fine Gael

Billy Kelleher – Fianna Fáil

Malcolm Byrne – Fianna Fáil

Liadh Ní Riada – Sinn Féin

Grace O’Sullivan – Green Party

Adrienne Wallace – Solidarity/People Before Profit

Peter O’Loughlin – Identity Ireland

Liam Minehan – Independent

Van de Ven – Direct Democracy Ireland

Diarmuid O’Flynn – Independent

Paddy Fitzgerald – Independent

Walter Ryan-Purcell – Independent

Theresa Heaney – Independent

Dolores J. Cahill – Independent

Maurice Joseph Sexton – Independent

Breda Patricia Gardner – Independent

Mick Wallace – Independent 4 Change

Allan J. Brennan – Independent

Sheila Nunan – Labour Party

Colleen Worthington – Independent

Peter Madden – Independent