Government Announces The Six New Health Boards

Written 1 month ago by Eoin O Donoghue

The HSE is being divided into six new groups in a major shake up of the structure of the health service.

Laois, Offaly and Westmeath will make up  one of the health boards which will also include Kildare/West Wicklow, Longford, Dublin South City, Dublin South West, Dublin West.

The hospitals in the regional health board includes Tallaght University Hospital, St. James’s Hospital and St. Luke’s Hospital.

The proposed six regional health areas are based on population data including how people currently access health services, as well as a public consultation.

The regional bodies will be enabled to plan, fund, manage and deliver integrated care for people in their region.

The government says it will give more autonomy to clinicians to manage their local areas.

Paul Reid, Director General of the HSE, says the new plan will give better access to care for patients: