How Much Does Your Local Councillor Earn In Offaly?

Written 1 month ago by Newsroom

The earnings of Offaly County Councillors are being revealed.

Fianna Fail’s Danny Owens was the highest earning member last year, according to the local authority’s annual report.

Councillor Owens was paid a total of €38,269 during 2018, including €10,000 for being Cathaoirleach for six months.

The second highest earner was another Fianna Fail member from the Tullamore Electoral Area, Cllr Declan Harvey.

Like all 19 councillors in Offaly, he received a representational payment and a municipal district allowance of €17,933.25, and he received another €6,000 as chair of one of the council’s strategic policy committees and a further €6,000 as chair of the Tullamore Municipal District.

Other allowances and expenses brought his total to €37,211.08.

Fine Gael’s Liam Quinn from the Edenderry Area received €34,420.49 and that included a €10,000 payment for being Cathaoirleach of the council for six months in 2018.

Councillors receive monthly allowances varying from €4203.71 to €6,824.86.

There are also payments for expenses, conference attendance, training fees and telephone costs and these were paid to 15 councillors, ranging from €600 in the case of Cllr John Leahy to €3,427.40 to Cllr John Clendennen.

In all, €535,286.14 was paid to the 19 councillors in 2018 and you can find the full amounts at

The individual totals received were –

Danny Owens (Fianna Fail) €38,269.11, Declan Harvey (Fianna Fail) €37,211.08, Noel Bourke (Fianna Fail) €35,298.88, Liam Quinn (Fine Gael) €34,420.49, John Clendennen (Fine Gael) €34,347.85, John Carroll (Ind) €32,155.51, Peter Ormond (Fianna Fail) €31,147.96, Eddie Fitzpatrick (Fianna Fail) €28,388.69, Noel Cribbin (Ind/Fine Gael) €25,983.76, John Foley (Ind) €25,854.80, Brendan Killeavy (Sinn Fein) €24,973.13, Frank Moran (Fianna Fail) €24,831.88, Martin O’Reilly (Sinn Fein) €24,322.01, Eamon Dooley (Fianna Fail) €24,188.78, Sean Maher (Sinn Fein) €23,588.69, John Leahy (Renua) €23,086.09, Tommy McKeigue (Fine Gael) €22,704.93, Tony McCormack (Fianna Fail) €22,373.54, Dervill Dolan (Ind) €22,136.96.