Galway Dominate Hurling All-Stars

Written 12 months ago by Newsroom

A record equalling seven Galway players have been included in the 2017 Hurling All-Stars.

There are five awards for Waterford, but Kilkenny are without a single representative for only the second time since 1996.

Tipperary’s Pádraic Maher has secured his fifth All-Star while Galway’s David Burke and Joe Canning both earn their fourth.

Their fellow Tribesmen Pádraic Mannion, Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Geróid McInearney are named for the first time.

Waterford’s Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh wins his fourth award while the Déise’s Stephen O’Keeffe edges out Anthony Nash in the goalkeeping head to head.

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford)

2. Pádraic Mannion (Galway)

3. Daithí Burke (Galway)

4. Noel Connors (Waterford)

5. Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

6. Gearóid McInerney (Galway)

7. Mark Coleman (Cork)

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Kevin Moran (Waterford)

11. Joe Canning (Galway)

12. Michael Walsh (Waterford)

13. Conor Whelan (Galway)

14. Conor Cooney (Galway)

15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)