Laois Aussie Rules Star Named In International Rules Squad

Written 12 months ago by Newsroom

Laois man Zach Tuohy has been named in the provisional panel for Ireland’s International Rules series against Australia next month.

The Geelong defender is joined in the squad by fellow Aussie Rules player Pearce Hanley of the Gold Coast Suns.

Manager Joe Kernan has confirmed that Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea will captain the team with Conor McManus of Monaghan serving as vice-captain.

Cork’s Sean Powter and Niall Grimley of Armagh have been confirmed as the final two tourists on the Irish panel.

Kernan revealed the news this morning, following the final trial match at Croke Park last night.

Fifteen counties are represented with Mayo leading the contingent with four players while Kerry have three.

As expected, no players are included from All Ireland champions Dublin.

Ireland Squad

Niall Morgan (Edendork, Tyrone)

Chris Barrett (Belmullet, Mayo)

Gary Brennan (Clondegad, Clare)

Eoin Cadogan (Douglas, Cork)

Killian Clarke (Shercock, Cavan)

Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers, Kerry)

Kevin Feely (Athy, Kildare)

Paul Geaney (Dingle, Kerry)

Pearce Hanley (Gold Coast/Ballaghadereen, Mayo)

Brendan Harrison (Aghamore, Mayo)

Conor Mc Manus (Clontibret, Monaghan)

Michael Murphy (Glenswilly, Donegal)

Niall Murphy (Coolera/Strandhill, Sligo)

Paul Murphy (Rathmore, Kerry)

Karl O’Connell (Tyholland, Monaghan)

Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy, Mayo)

Niall Sludden (Dromore, Tyrone)

Enda Smith (Boyle, Roscommon)

Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen, Tipperary)

Zach Tuohy (Geelong/Portlaoise, Laois)

Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne, Galway)

Sean Powter (Cork)

Niall Grimley (Armagh)

Stand By Players

Mattie Donnelly (Trillick, Tyrone)

Connaire Harrison (Glasdrumman, Down)

Caolan Mooney (Rostrevor, Down)

Sean Murphy (Fenagh, Carlow)

Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly, Carlow)