Wild Youth

Next To You

Athlone Town To Take Part In First Division Season

Serious reservations expressed about inclusion of Shamrock Rovers 'B' team at public meeting.

The SSE Airtricity League first division will comprise of 10 teams this season and that will include Shamrock Rovers 'B' team and it also means that Limerick FC have been excluded.

That decision was made yesterday by the FAI and the season will begin tomorrow night week.

There were serious reservations among clubs in the division about the inclusion of Rovers second string and Athlone Town held a public meeting last night at which they decided to take part in the league with a proviso that they could stage a protest at the inclusion of Rovers at some stage of the season.

The Chairman of Athlone Town is John Hayden who says that the decision to include Rovers was flawed:


The club have also issues an appeal for more people to help out as the season gets underway

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa