Conal Gallen

Hows Your Father

Carty & Masterson Retain Connacht Spots For Munster Clash

Both are coming off the back of a super performance against Leinster.

Connacht and Munster have both named their sides to line out in their clash at the Sportsground tomorrow evening.

Andy Friend has made four changes to his side that beat Leinster last weekend with Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane and Sean O’Brien all set to start for the hosts.

Jack Carty and Portlaoise's Sean Masterson retain their places, Sean's brother Eoghan drops out. 

Australian wing Ben O’Donnell meanwhile gets his first start for the province after making his debut off the bench last weekend.

Connacht Starting XV: John Porch, Ben O’Donnell, Sammy Arnold, Tom Daly, Alex Wootton, Jack Carty, Caolin Blade, Denis Buckley, Shane Delahunt, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Quinn Roux (C), Sean O’Brien, Conor Oliver, Sean Masterson 

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, Matthew Burke, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Gavin Thornbury, Paul Boyle, Kieran Marmion, Diarmuid Kilgallen, Peter Sullivan 

The Westerners also announced that no positive tests have been returned from the latest round of PCR testing. 

James Cronin will return from injury to start in the front row for Johann van Graan's side as he makes his 100th appearance in the competition.

He's one of 14 changes to their side that lost to Ulster last week with captain Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Keith Earls, and Damian de Allende all also returning.

Munster Starting XV: Mike Haley; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Shane Daly; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Gavin Coombes, Peter O’Mahony (c), CJ Stander.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Josh Wycherley, Keynan Knox, Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland, Nick McCarthy, Ben Healy, Rory Scannell.

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa