FAI Finalise Make-Up Of SSE Airtricity League

Athlone Town begin their pre season this afternoon.

Athlone Town's opponents for the 2021 season have been finalised. 

There was much speculation over who would fill the 10th and final spot in the SSE Airtricity First Division this year with new teams from Limerick, Dublin and Shamrock Rovers II in the running. 

In the end it was decided that professional football should return to the mid-west and Treaty United of Limerick were selected. 

The club are the re-birth of the defunct Limerick FC and their ladies team already compete in the Women's National League. 

Athlone Town get their pre-season underway later today with a trip to Shamrock Rovers in a behind closed door friendly.

Statement from the FAI: 

The Board of the Football Association of Ireland has today approved the formation of the SSE Airtricity League Premier and First Divisions for the 2021 season. The First Division will comprise of 10 teams, with Treaty United invited to take up the 10thplace.

Licences for the 2021 season were awarded by the Independent Licensing Committee on Friday. On receipt earlier today of the NLEC recommendation that the First Division comprise of 10 teams, the FAI Board then took its decision this afternoon.

The SSE Airtricity Premier Division season will kick-off on March 19th with the SSE Airtricity First Division campaign commencing on March 26th.


Bohemian FC, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.


Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, Treaty United, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa