Last Year's Championship Winners Pick Up League Title After Extra-Time

Courtwood brought St Joseph's all the way to extra-time before the county champions' late winner.

St Joseph's are this year's Division One league champions in Laois after a tense final against Courtwood in Portlaoise on Saturday.

The LOETB Centre of Excellence played host to a slow paced affair which remained scoreless until the 10th minute.

The contest remained close throughout with an Eoghan O’Flaherty goal the only difference between the two clubs at half time.

The three point gap was eliminated through the second half to bring on extra-time when a late Jamie Kelly goal raised St Joseph's second green flag, and with it, securing league honours.

Courtwood open up their championship campaign against Killeshin on Thursday July 25th, with Joseph's begining their title defence against Graiguecullen on Friday the same week.

More from Sports

Download Our App