On Air Now Mark Hughes 2:00pm - 5:00pm Playing Missing You - John Waite
Now Playing John Waite Missing You

PRO 14 To Be Rebranded as 'United Rugby Championship'

It means that the South African teams will be able to qualify for European games.

Tournament organisers have confirmed that the new 16-team PRO rugby competition will be called the United Rugby Championship. 

South African clubs the Sharks, Stormers, Lions and Bulls will enter the league next season alongside the teams who competed in last year's Guinness PRO14.

It will see the return of a single-standing table with quarter-finals, semi-finals and a grand final at the end of the regular campaign. 

Under the agreement, the South African sides will be eligible to qualify for European competitions.

Here's an explainer of how it will all work: 

More from Sports