Paddy Casey

Saints & Sinners

Tom Curry Only English Player Nominated For Player Of The Year

Alan Wyn Jones also nominated

England have only one entry on the shortlist for rugby union world player of the year despite reaching tomorrow's World Cup final against South Africa.

Flanker Tom Curry's inclusion comes after an outstanding 2019, including a man of the match display in the quarter-final victory over Australia.

The 21-year-old is England's youngest player in Eddie Jones's squad.

Wales's outgoing captain Alun Wyn Jones is also among the six nominees.

The full list is as follows:  Pieter-Steph du Toit (South Africa), Tom Curry (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Cheslin Kolbe (South Africa), Ardie Savea (New Zealand) and Joe Taufete’e (USA).

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa