On Air Now Brian Moss 5:00pm - 9:00pm Playing Valerie - Mark Ronson & Amy Winehouse
Now Playing Mark Ronson & Amy Winehouse Valerie

Tullamore Winger Wins Rugby Writers Award

Jordan Conroy is Men's 7s Player of the year.

Tullamore's Jordan Conroy has been named Men’s 7s Player of the Year at the Rugby Writer's awards. 

It's recognition of his superb 2019/20 season on the HSBC Sevens World Series which saw him finish as the competitions top tryscorer. 

He scored 30 tries as the competition ended 4 legs early, that was 8 tries ahead of his nearest rival, Carlin Isles of the United States. 

Béibhinn Parsons has been named Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Women's Player of The Year.

The Ballinasloe winger enjoyed a tremendous season with Ireland, while balancing international rugby with her studies.

Parsons scored three tries during the 2020 Women’s Six Nations.

Meanwhile Leinster's Garry Ringrose has been named Men's Player of The Year.

The centre was a key man for the Blues in their unbeaten league campaign.

He remains hopeful of being fully recovered from a jaw injury to take on Munster in the PRO14 this weekend:

Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Award Winners:

Men’s Player of The Year: Garry Ringrose. Women’s Player of the Year: Béibhinn Parsons.

Tom Rooney Award: Garrett Fitzgerald. Dave Guiney

Team of the Year: Leinster.

Men’s 7s Player of the Year: Jordan Conroy.

Women’s 7s Player of the Year: Louise Galvin.

Club of the Year: Ballynahinch.

Hall of Fame inductees: Trevor Ringland and Fiona Coghlan.

More from Sports