Westmeath Draw Difficult Joe McDonagh Cup Group

They've been paired with Carlow and Kildare.

Shane O'Brien won't have it easy if his side are to bounce swiftly back form a disappointing 2020. 

They will meet Carlow and Kildare in Group A.

Each team plays each other once with the top team advancing straight to a final. 

The winner of which will enter the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship in 2022. 

Group B consists of Down, Meath and Kerry. 

The bottom team in each group meet in the relegation final. 

12 months ago it might have been said that Westmeath and Carlow would be favourites but following Kerry's performance in reaching the final and Meath's overachievement, both will known that a win over one another in the group phase is far from a guarantee of success overall. 

Kildare will also fancy their chances of causing an upset on the back of a superb Christy Ring campaign last season. 

Group A: Westmeath, Carlow, Kildare. 

Group B: Meath, Kerry, Down. 


Group A 

Group B

Cill Dara 


An Iarmhí 


An Dún 

An Mhí

26-27.06.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 1 

Cill Dara v Ceatharlach  

03-04.07.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 2 

Ceatharlach v An Iarmhí  

10-11.07.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 3 

An Iarmhí v Cill Dara

26-27.06.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 1 

Ciarraí v An Dún 

03-04.07.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 2 

An Dún v An Mhí 

10-11.07.2021 (Sat/Sun) 

Round 3 

An Mhí v Ciarraí

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa