Hot Meal Scheme Extended To 81 Midlands Schools

Stock Image

1,400 schools around the country will benefit from the scheme from next April.

An additional 81 primary schools in the midlands are set to get hot meals.

Social Protection Minister Heather Humphreys has announced the Programme will be extended to 35 new schools in Westmeath, 28 in Laois and 18 in Offaly.

Around the country, an extra 900 primary schools will benefit from the scheme, bringing the total to 1,400 from next April.

It was first introduced in 2019, and will now benefit 150 thousand students.

Offaly Green Party Senator and Junior Agriculture Minister Pippa Hackett says:

"The objective of the programme is to provide regular, nutritious food to children so that they can fully participate in school and I am delighted that Government approved the extension to the scheme this week. 

The schools meal scheme is relatively new, commencing in 2019 and I appreciate the role that principals, teachers and the wider school community have played and will continue to play in facilitating this additional provision within schools. 

The 18 Offaly schools invited to join the scheme from April 2024, have previously expressed an interest in the scheme. 

I thank them for their willingness to participate for the wellbeing of their students and wish them well."

The full list of schools in the region which the scheme has been extended to can be found below:


  • Abbeyleix Sth N S    
  • Camross N S    
  • Castletown N.S    
  • Cill An Iubhair N S    
  • Cloch An Tsionnaigh N S    
  • Emo Mixed N S    
  • Fraoch Mor N S    
  • Gaelscoil An Tsli Dala    
  • Gaelscoil Phort Laoise    
  • Kiladooley Mixed N S    
  • Naomh Pius X N S    
  • Our Ladys Meadow National School
  • Portlaoise Educate Together Ns
  • Rath Mixed N S
  • Rosenallis N S    
  • Rush Hall Mixed N S    
  • S N Naomh Colmcille    
  • S N Naomh Eoin    
  • Scoil Mhuire    
  • Scoil Mhuire Muigheo    
  • Scoil Mhuire Naofa Castlecuffe    
  • Scoil Padraig    
  • Scoil Phadraig    
  • Shanganamore N S    
  • St Josephs National School    
  • St Pauls N S
  • Tobar An Leinn    
  • Trummera N S


  • Ballykilmurry N S    
  • Charleville N S    
  • Clonbullogue N S    
  • Cloneyhurke N S    
  • Edenderry Convent N S    
  • Gaelscoil Na Laochra    
  • High St Mixed N S    
  • S N Cronain Naofa    
  • S N Lomchluana    
  • S N Mhanachain    
  • S N Mhuire    
  • S N Mhuire Bainrioghan    
  • S N Naomh Cholumchille    
  • S N Ros Com Rua    
  • S N Seosamh    
  • Scoil Bhride    
  • Scoil Colmain Naofa    
  • Shinchill N S    


  • An Ghrianan N S    
  • Ard Na Gcraith Ns    
  • Athlone N S    
  • Baile Coireil N S    
  • Ballinahowen Ns    
  • Bl Oliver Plunkett N S    
  • Castlepollard Paroc.N S    
  • Cill Cleithe N S    
  • Cluain Buinne N S    
  • Cluain Maolain N S    
  • Crowenstown N S    
  • Dalystown N S    
  • Diarmada N S    
  • Drumraney Mixed N S    
  • Dysart Ns    
  • Earnain Mxd N S    
  • Gaelscoil An Choillín    
  • Kilpatrick Ns    
  • Mhichil Naofa N S    
  • Naomh Clar N S    
  • Naomh Tola N S    
  • S N Aodha Naofa    
  • S N Bhride    
  • S N Chruimin Naofa    
  • S N Phadraig    
  • Sc Ciarain    
  • Scoil An Chlochair Cill Bheagan    
  • Scoil Mhuire    
  • St Brigid's Primary School    
  • St Etchens National School    
  • St Feighans Mxd N S    
  • St. Anne's National School    
  • St. Colmcille's N.S.    
  • Tang N S    

More from Midlands News

Download Our App