Ireland Join Four Others In Combined 2030 World Cup Bid

Feasibility studies are also being undertaken by England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England are launching a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup. 

The five national football associations say they'll push ahead with feasibility studies for now. 

The official bidding process will open formally in 2022. 

In a joint statement issued this evening, they say it would be " an incredible opportunity to deliver tangible benefits for our nations". 

The Football Association of Ireland is issuing the following statement in conjunction with the Irish Football Association, The FA, the Football Association of Wales and the Scottish FA: 
“The football associations and government partners of the UK and Ireland are delighted that the UK government has committed to support a prospective five association bid for the 2030 FIFA World Cup. We will continue to undertake feasibility work to assess the viability of a bid before FIFA formally open the process in 2022. Staging a FIFA World Cup would provide an incredible opportunity to deliver tangible benefits for our nations. If a decision is made to bid for the event, we look forward to presenting our hosting proposals to FIFA and the wider global football community.”

More from Sports

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa