On Air Now Claire O'Brien 7:00pm - 8:00pm Playing Don't Know Much - Linda Ronstadt & Aaron Neville
Now Playing Linda Ronstadt & Aaron Neville Don't Know Much

Mayo Heartbreak As Tyrone Lift Sam Maguire For Fourth Time

Photo credit: Twitter/@TyroneGAALive

Mayo's wait to claim the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship goes into a 71st year. 

Tyrone are the 2021 All-Ireland Senior Football Champions.

That's after they beat Mayo 2-14 to 15 points at Croke Park this afternoon. 

Cathal McShane and Darren McCurry scored the Tyrone goals in the second half after Ryan O'Donoghue missed a penalty for Mayo. 

The win marks the fourth time the Red Hand has won the Sam Maguire as Mayo's wait goes into a 71st year. 

It also completes a dream first season in management for Brian Dooher and Feargal Logan.

Dooher says it wasn't plain sailing all year:

It's the fourth time Tyrone have won the Sam Maguire, while this is the 11th All-Ireland Mayo have lost since 1989.

Manger James Horan said it's tough but they couldn't complain about the result:

More from Sports