Offaly Scoop Player Of The Year Honours As Four Named To Champion 15 Selection

Eight counties are represented overall.

Offaly star Oisin Kelly has been named as the top talent in the Christy Ring Cup of last season. 

The Belmont man scored 2-10 in total, including 0-7 in the final against Derry. 

He was one of the leading lights as Michael Fennelly's team completed an unfussed return to Joe McDonagh Cup hurling for 2022. Kelly was far from the only standout player though as is reflection in the Champion 15 selection. 

It encompasses an all-star team made up of Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard  and Lory Meagher cup players. 

Alongside Kelly in the team were Ballinamere's Ciaran Burke, St. Rynagh's Ben Conneely and Birr's Eoghan Cahill. All three made up a strong spine for the faithful team and contributed heavily to a very successful season. 

Conneely grew into his leadership role with the team even further and Cahill was unyielding as ever from the placed ball. 

Christy Ring Player of the Year: Oisin Kelly (Offaly)

Nickey Rackard Player of the Year: Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Lory Meagher Player of the Year: Seán Corrigan (Fermanagh)

GAA/GPA 2021 Champion 15 Team of the Year

1. Simon Doherty (Armagh/Rackard)

2. Sean Cassidy (Derry/Ring)

3. Ciarán Burke (Offaly/Ring)

4. Rory Porteous (Fermanagh/Meagher)

5. Enda Shalvey (Cavan/Meagher)

6. Ben Conneely (Offaly/Ring)

7. David Kenny (Mayo/Rackard)

8. Cathal Freeman (Mayo/Rackard)

9. Cormac O’Doherty (Derry/Ring)

10. Damian Casey (Tyrone/Rackard)

11. Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo/Ring)

12. Seán Corrigan (Fermanagh/Meagher)

13. Oisin Kelly (Offaly/Ring)

14. Eoghan Cahill (Offaly/Ring)

15. Keith Higgins (Mayo/Rackard)

More from Sports