Westmeath Scoop Up Places On Joe McDonagh Team Of The Year

Photo Credit: GAA

They've also brought individual honours back to the lake county.

A successful year for Westmeath's hurlers, culminating in their Joe McDonagh Cup win has been reflected in the end of season awards for the grade. 

No fewer than seven lake county players have been included in the team of the year. 

Darragh Egerton, Tommy Doyle, Aonghus Clarke, Robbie Greville, Davy Glennon, Killian Doyle and Niall Mitchell all being recognised.

Tommy Doyle has also been chosen as the Player Of The Year For 2021. 

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy congratulated the winners and said:

“This is a proud moment for the group of players who on the back of their exceptional displays for their counties have been chosen to take a place on a high-calibre Joe McDonagh team of the year. It was a keenly contested championship which brought the very best out of these skillful and inspirational players.

“I am certain it is a success also shared by your families and club mates and thank you for the commitment to the pursuit of excellence. I particularly want to congratulate Tommy Doyle, who has been chosen as Player of the Year and is a player who has given such sterling service to the Lake County and Lough Lene Gaels for so many years.”

GPA CEO, Tom Parsons, added:

“While our games are all about being part of a team, individual recognition like this is a huge honour and I want to congratulate the 15 players who have been selected for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year.

“You were the best fifteen players in a season that saw many outstanding performances and you should take great pride from that. A special word of congratulations too to Westmeath’s Tommy Doyle on his selection as the Joe McDonagh Player of the Year.”


GAA/GPA 2021 Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year:

1. Stephen Keith (Down)

2. Darragh Egerton (Westmeath)

3. Conor Woods (Down)

4. Eric Leen (Kerry)

5. Aonghus Clarke (Westmeath)

6. Tommy Doyle (Westmeath)

7. Fionan Mackessy (Kerry)

8. Robbie Greville (Westmeath)

9. Brian Byrne (Kildare)

10. Davy Glennon (Westmeath)

11. Killian Doyle (Westmeath)

12. Jack Regan (Meath)

13. Chris Nolan (Carlow)

14. Niall Mitchell (Westmeath)

15. Shane Conway (Kerry)

More from Sports