Flood Protection Schemes Vital For Laois' Climate Action Plan

It's outlined seven priority actions for the county.

Developing flood protection schemes in three towns is a major part of Laois' Climate Action Plan.

The five-year-strategy was launched last week by Green Party Leader and Energy Minister Eamon Ryan.

The plan outlines the ongoing risk of 'severe windstorms' in Laois, and the need for the local authority to proactively plan for similar weather events.

It's listed seven areas of focus as priorities until 2029.

Among the key developments in the plan, is progression on flood schemes in Mountmellick, Portarlington and Clonaslee.

It also highlights the need to establish Local Transport Plans for the county's three major towns, Portlaoise, Mountmellick and Portarlington.

The local authority says it will conduct a feasibility study on a potential solar farm on a landfill in Kyletalesha.

It also says it will focus on the Decarbonisation Zone of Portlaoise to shape a rapidly-evolving town into a beacon of sustainability, and has committed to developing a new bus route in the town within the lifetime of the plan.

More from Midlands News

Download Our App