On Air Now Will O'Callaghan 2:00pm - 6:00pm Playing Alone - Heart
Now Playing Heart Alone

Just One IFA Election As President, Deputy And Three Regional Chairs Run Unopposed

Tim Cullinan

Toomevara's Tim Cullinan will start his second term as President in January 2022.

Just one IFA regional chair election will be taking place this year, with the president, deputy and all other regional chairs returning unopposed.

Nominations have now closed for the positions, for which elections take place every two years.

Sitting President, Toomevara's Tim Cullinan was the only nominee and has therefore been returned unopposed for a second term, commencing in January 2022.

Deputy President Brian Rushe was also returned unopposed.

South Leinster Chair Francie Gorman - who oversees Laois and Offaly - was nominated and returned unopposed.

As too was Munster Chair Harold Kingston and Connacht Chair Pat Murphy.

There are two nominees for the position of Ulster/North Leinster Chairman, which covers Westmeath.

They're former IFA Monaghan Chairman Frank Brady and IFA Meath Chairman John Curran.

The successful candidate will succeed the outgoing chair Nigel Renaghan.

More from Midlands News