2024 Westmeath Local Elections Day Three

Live coverage from the count centre in Moate.

On day three, counting was officially completed for Westmeath. 

20 councillors have been elected by the districts of Athlone, Moate, Mulingar and Kinnegad.

A recount was ordered yesterday evening for Mullingar and got underway this morning at 10am.

Just before 6pm, it was confirmed that 12 errors were made, not enough to impact on the results.

There was a possibility of a recount in Athlone, of only the seventh count, however the request was withdrawn before counting had begun.

Fianna Fáil have claimed 9 seats in the county, the largest of any party in Westmeath.

No Green Party councillor was elected, as both Louise Heavin and Hazel Smyth lost their seats.

The final results confirm that the following council will sit for Westmeath:


Kevin "Boxer" Moran - Independent

Frankie Keena - Fianna Fáil

Aengus O' Rourke - Fianna Fáil

John Dolan - Fine Gael

Paul Hogan - Independent Ireland



Tom Farrell - Fine Gael

Liam McDaniel - Fianna Fáil

Johnnie Penrose - Labour

Vinny McCormack - Fianna Fáil



Mick Dollard - Independent

Ken Glynn - Fianna Fáil

Andrew Duncan - Fine Gael

Aoife Davitt - Fianna Fáil

Bill Collentine - Fianna Fáil

Julie McCourt - Sinn Féin



David Jones - Sinn Féin

Alfie Devine - Fianna Fáil

Denis Leonard - Labour

Emily Wallace - Fine Gael

Niall Gaffney - Fianna Fáil


Independent Ireland's Paul Hogan has been voted on to the council - he was previously co-opted on in 2022.

He says he is excited to start working with his fellow elected members:

Sinn Féin's David Jones was elected for the first time in Kinnegad.

He says he will prioritise tackling the housing issue:

More from Midlands News

Download Our App