Midlands Local Authority Cathaoirligh To Be Elected Today

It'll be done in conjunction with the first AGM under the new members of the councils.

The Cathaoirligh of the midlands local authorities will be elected today.

Fianna Fáil's Paschal McEvoy and Padraig Fleming will hand over the reigns as Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach in Laois County Council as the first AGM under the new members takes place this afternoon.

Offaly County Council will also elect a new Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson, who will take over from Eddie Fitzpatrick and Danny Owens respectively, both of whom fly the Fianna Fáil banner.

While Liam McDaniel, also of Fianna Fáil, and the Green Party's Louise Heavin will pass over the positions in Westmeath.

More from Midlands News

Download Our App