Mullooly Claims Last Seat As Midlands North West Positions Filled

The final seat was filled early this morning.

The final Irish seats for the European Parliament have been filled, with the conclusion of the count in the Midlands-North-West constituency in the early hours of this morning.

Five candidates were elected following a five-day marathon count, which concluded at 3.30 am in the TF Royal in Castlebar.

The election of Independent Luke 'Ming' Flanagan on the 20th count last night was followed by that of Fianna Fáil's Barry Cowen, just after 1.30am.

Fine Gael’s Nina Carberry and Maria Walsh, along with Independent Ireland’s Ciaran Mullooly were subsequently all deemed elected in the early hours. 

The former RTE broadcaster Ciaran Mullooly says it was a relief to finally get over the line:

The Tánaiste says its not certain Fianna Fáil would have won two seats in the Midlands Northwest with a two candidate strategy.

Barry Cowen, Lisa Chambers and Niall Blaney all ran for the party in the fifteen county constituency.

However Barry Cowen was the only Fianna Fáil candidate who was elected, despite the party getting almost 150,000 first preference votes between the three who contested.

Micheál Martin says it’s not certain the party could have another seat in Midlands Northwest:

The Taoiseach says he hasn't assessed when the Government will hold the four by-elections that must happen after the European elections.

Four TD’s  won seats in Brussels.

The by-elections in Laois-Offaly, Dublin Bay North, Carlow-Kilkenny and Clare must be held within the next six months.

Simon Harris says while he is undecided, he doesn’t fear going to the polls:

More from Midlands News

Download Our App