Midlands Demand For Addiction And Homeless Services On The Rise

That's one of the findings of Merchant's Quay Ireland's annual report.

Demand for addiction and homelessness services is rising in the midlands.

Nationally, 11,600 people were helped by Merchant's Quay Ireland last year.

The charity's annual report shows it helped 433 people with mental health issues - an 11 percent increase on 2018.

It also provided emergency shelter and healthcare services like GPs, dentists and counsellors to more almost 3,700 people.

Chief Executive of Merchant's Quay Ireland, Paula Byrne, says requests for help have increased around the country:

Service Co-Ordinator - Orla Fagan • 086 793 4920 • orla.fagan@mqi.ie or dats@mqi.ie

Rehab & Aftercare Worker - Paul Murray • 086 033 1312 • paul.murray@mqi.ie

Laois Drug & Alcohol Worker - Barry Donnelly • 087 292 5727 • barry.donnelly@mqi.ie

Offaly Drug & Alcohol Worker - Lauren Origan • 087 914 8782 • lauren.origan@mqi.ie

Portlaoise Project Worker - Tara Hubbard • 086 142 8492 • tara.hubbard@mqi.ie

Longford Drug & Alcohol Worker - Derek Phelan • 086 411 3628 • derek.phelan@mqi.ie

Westmeath Drug & Alcohol Worker - Angela Garret • 087 915 0329 • angela.garret@mqi.ie

Midlands Family Support Specialist - Amy McGranaghan • 086 602 9012 • amy.mcgranaghan@mqi.ie

Midlands Project Admin/Project Worker - Zsanett Salbot • 086 793 4953 • zsanett.salbot@mqi.ie or dats@mqi.ie

More from Midlands News

Stay Tuned

Never miss a moment from Midlands 103

  • Available on the App Store
  • Available on Google Play
  • Just ask Amazon Alexa