Met Eireann Extends Its Snow-Ice Warning For 14 counties

Stock Image

Some schools were forced to close due to dangerous conditions.

Met Eireann is warning of hazardous travelling conditions as it extends its snow-ice warning for 14 counties.

Laois, Offaly, Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Wexford, Wicklow, and all of Munster, are under the alert until six o'clock this evening.

There's also a rain warning in place for Dublin, Louth, Meath and Wicklow, while there's a nationwide ice warning until nine o'clock in the morning. Some schools have been forced to close, and motorists in badly affected areas are being urged not to travel.

Alan Hally from Met Eireann says inland counties have been hit hardest:

An Post says the snow is causing "major difficulties" for deliveries today.

It says it'll make every effort to get letters and parcels to customers as quickly as possible.

Westmeath, Cavan, Leitrim, Monaghan, as well as Glenageary and Blackrock in Dublin, are the areas where it's experiencing the biggest issues.

More from Midlands News

Download Our App